Angie

How do you pay the bills?

Moderator: Priests of Syrinx

Angie

Angie

Post by Angie »

Since July 2001, I have been a mom. Our moves became more frequent and having our 2nd child made us both realize that me being home with the kids was the best option for our family.

For 10 years before being a mom I was a Social Worker. Fresh out of Tulane (and "fresh off the boat" the Hawaiians would say), I was fortunate to land my 1st social work job in '92 at an alternative school for at-risk teens in Hawaii where I worked for several yrs. It was an honor to be accepted into their culture. I learned so much from them. I mostly did individual/family/group therapy focusing mostly on sexual abuse/self-esteem/anger management issues. Hawaii earned a very special place in my heart.

After leaving Hawaii, I took a year off following the sudden death of my mother. We lived in the desert in AZ for 6 months then off to Melbourne, FL, where I worked for several years with SED ("severely emotionally disturbed") children. I worked for a private agency as a therapist placed within the public school system with targeted children and their families. Lots of home visits.